You’re Not the Boss of Me!…Art journal page

Standard

After too many years spent with certain people who try to force me into their idea of who or what I should be (so I can fulfill their needs and desires)- I am struggling to figure out who I am and who I’m supposed to be (sounds like a Gavin DeGraw song)-I haven’t gotten there yet, but this page expresses my very strong opinion that no one (on earth) has the right to define my reality!

To do this background I first started with a layer of Josonjas acrylic in Napthol Red Light-then I stamped a harlequin pattern and embossed with clear embossing powder-covered that with a layer of Josonjas in Rose Pink- after that dried an rubbed over the images with a baby wipe-then emphasized some of the diamonds with Jacquard permanent resist pain in Russet- I then added some gold rub ons, brushes of gesso,bright pink paint, gold metallic gelatos and acrylic paint, with some of the Russet added along the edges followed by some distressing with a brown ink pad. When in doubt, just keep laying on color! If you want it more blendable, use your fingers- it’s so much fun! OOps! I don’t want to forget- I also used a circle stencil here and there with my bright pink paint and also used the ghosted image (turn over the stencil and then use it as a stamp) Whew ! That sounds like a lot-but it’s totally doable.

Some more rub ons, stamped ladies I cut out and adhered to both pages-bird on a wire tape and stamped and written lettering. I ended up gluing the inclusion flaps together.

A view of the other side.

Leave a Reply

