Using Art Journal Techniques for Scrapbook pages

Standard

Hi all!

I know, I know- it’s been forever since I posted anything- my house has been in an uproar, and I have just been really distracted by things lately and just haven’t created much art at all-but the last several days I have been KILLING IT! I don’t know what’s come over me- but I just have to share what I’ve been up to. And this is after I spent practically a week not sleeping ,not eating-couldn’t focus on anything useful- I completely stopped cooking dinner for days- I was a wreck basically. But now, thanks to ALOT of prayer and determination- I think I have conquered the beast and I’m back to almost full brain function! So, to prove it- I wanted to show you one of my favorite art journal techniques and how to apply it to a scrapbook page.

    The first thing I did was  paint the background grey, then mix some modeling paste with some red paint and scrape it over a damask stencil on top of the dried paint- here is the art journal page with this technique in the background.  Here is the scrapbook page where I used the same background technique:

  I know it’s not the best photo ,but frankly,I’m kind of lazy and this is as good as it gets today!

You can see the damask pattern here and there- over that I stamped a Donna Downey dress form foam stamp with black paint-rubbed some light blue here and there and laid down some papers and voila!

I hope this has helped you see how versatile these techniques really are and how you can use them in all sorts of art applications-Cheerio!!

5 responses »

  1. this is absolutely wonderful!! I’m not a scrapbooker but this certainly is a great example of how one can use a technique and apply it in whatever art form they prefer.

Leave a Reply

